By: Randy Smith

Multimedia…multimedia…multimedia! Ok, I’m sure your get the point. Since I decided to take the plunge and pursue a career in journalism, this is the one word that has haunted a lot of my twitter feeds and rss alerts.

Many in the industry are trying to drive this point home to all aspiring journalists as well as the seasoned veterans. Be prepared because the evolution has begun and it will be televised…tweeted…updated…broadcasted…podcasted (not sure it that is an actual word…give it a year or two) and #hash-tagged!

Which I don’t mind at all. Why not turn today’s journalists into “one-man bands”? Broadcast television has gone that route as they gradually usher out the cameraman. One person can now control an infinite amount of robotic cameras from the comforts of his/her console as well as control an audio board and video switcher.

After completing my digital journalism issue the advice I got was to learn how to edit and shoot. Becoming a good writer went without saying. It left me slightly intimidated.

That’s why I was happy to see catch this video from one of the many multimedia tweets I receive in my timeline.
Plus I’m a huge fan of Jay-Z…we’re both from Brooklyn! Its got a good beat and you can dance to it.

